Skip to content

Oat drink

German: Haferdrink Also known as: Hafermilch, Oatly

Plant-based drink made from oats and water in which starch is broken down by enzymes; may not be called oat milk.

Oat drink is made from oat grains and water. Enzymes partially break down the oat starch into sugars, giving the drink natural sweetness. Solids are then separated out.

In the EU plant-based drinks may not be labelled as milk, which is why the term oat drink is common. Many products are fortified with calcium or vitamins; gluten may be present unless the oats were specially treated.

Related terms

Non-alcoholic beerAllergen labellingFruit juiceSmoothie

More from Non-alcoholic

Ginger aleMedium (lightly sparkling)Near water (flavoured water)Not-from-concentrate juiceCoconut waterClassic (sparkling)

← Back to the glossary